What Countries Are in the Paris Climate Agreement 2020

What Countries Are in the Paris Climate Agreement 2020

The Paris Climate Agreement is an international treaty signed in 2015 by almost every country in the world with the aim of reducing global greenhouse gas emissions and limiting global warming to below 2°C above pre-industrial levels. The agreement sets out a framework for countries to work together towards these goals, including regular reporting and review of progress, and financial support for developing countries.

As of 2020, 189 countries have ratified the Paris Climate Agreement. These include the world`s largest emitters of greenhouse gases such as China, the United States, India, and the European Union.

However, there are a few notable countries that have not ratified the agreement, including Iran, Iraq, Libya, and Yemen. Some countries, such as Turkey and Russia, have signed but not yet ratified the agreement, while others, such as Nicaragua and Syria, have not signed at all.

The United States, under the Trump administration, also famously withdrew from the agreement in 2019, although President Joe Biden has since reversed that decision, with the US rejoining the agreement on the first day of his presidency in 2021.

Overall, the Paris Climate Agreement represents a historic and important step towards a more sustainable and resilient future for our planet. With the vast majority of countries committed to making progress towards reducing greenhouse gas emissions and limiting global warming, it is hoped that we can work together to avoid the worst impacts of climate change and protect our shared home for generations to come.

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.